FCMA Membership criteria

Chinese medicine practitioner members

All Chinese medicine practitioners registered with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) in any of the three divisions of Chinese medicine registration are eligible for membership, provided they meet all requirements of the Chinese Medicine Board of Australia (CMBA). These include the divisions of acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine and Chinese herbal dispensing. In addition to training and competency criteria as demonstrated by AHPRA registration, eligibility requirements include

  • Approved Professional Indemnity insurance cover:
    • A minimum of $5 million in cover for any single claim
    • A minimum of one automatic reinstatement during each year of insurance cover
    • Run off cover
    • Product liability where the registrant uses, sells or dispenses therapeutic goods
  • A current certificate in First Aid - Acceptable First Aid qualifications include the following or their equivalent:
    • HLTAID003
    • Apply First Aid
    • Senior First Aid Level 2

Remedial massage therapists

Remedial massage and tuina (Chinese medicine remedial massage) are not registered professions but are still recognised in the health system. FCMA requires that these practitioners hold a Diploma of Therapeutic Massage HLT 50302 or HLT 50307 or HLT52015.

FCMA Code of Conduct

The professional guidelines and code of conduct established by the CMBA apply to all FCMA members, both registered Chinese medicine practitioners and remedial massage therapists. They can be found here:

They include, but are not limited to your legal obligations in regard to professional invoicing protocols, continuing professional development, patient records, informed consent, etc.